Light of Serving the Poor

Posted: November 19, 2014 by kashmirsufis in Sayings

Sari as-Saqati, Allah sanctify his secrets, said:
“I once saw Ma‘ruf Al-Karkhi, Allah sanctify his secrets, gathering dates on the day of Eid, so I stopped and asked the reason for this.
He said, ’That young boy is crying because all the other children have new clothes and he has nothing new on Eid day. I thus, decided to collect some dates, sell them and then buy something for him, so that he is kept busy playing and does not feel uncomfortable on the day of Eid.’”
Sari as-Saqati, Allah sanctify his secrets, says:
“I said, there is no need for you to do this, I will make sure he gets something on Eid. I then took the boy with me and bought him a new set of clothes. After I did this, a light entered my heart, which caused me great pleasure and my condition became very different.”
~ Masalik as-Salikin, ~ The Ways of Those Who follow the Spiritual Paths ~ Volume 1, pg. 287
via-Sheikh Luqman Undlesi Hafizallahu taala

Leave a Reply

